NEW DATE—Challenging Inequality, Driving Growth: The Economic Implications of Segregation - Metropolitan Planning Council

Skip to main content

2017 Annual Luncheon
NEW DATE—Challenging Inequality, Driving Growth: The Economic Implications of Segregation

January 9, 2017, 11:15 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

This is a past event

Sheraton Grand Hotel
301 E. North Water St.

Download to calendar

Purchase tickets >>

New date: Monday, Jan. 9, 2017

Our Annual Luncheon was originally scheduled for Friday, Nov. 4, but was postponed for our city's celebration of the Cubs' historic World Series win. We look forward to seeing you on our new date: Monday, Jan. 9, 2017.

All existing tickets and table reservations will be honored for the new date. Our event planners, PJH & Associates, will contact you to confirm your arrangements.

Please join the Metropolitan Planning Council for a conversation between Ford Foundation President Darren Walker and MacArthur Foundation President Julia Stasch on metropolitan strategies that challenge inequality and increase economic opportunities for residents of all incomes.

Read MPC Board member Jessica Droste Yagan's Crain's op-ed on how business can help close Chicagoland's inequality gap.

At the luncheon, MPC will recognize Harris Holdings, Inc., Chairman King Harris, one of Chicago’s most prominent civic leaders and an MPC senior fellow, with the 2016 Champion Fighter Award. We will also present our 2016 Burnham Award for Excellence in Planning to the community of Pullman.

Sponsorships are available! For more information, contact MPC VP of Philanthropy Janet Myers at or 312-863-6010.

Although it's taking place in the new year, this remains our 2016 Annual Luncheon. Stay tuned for details on our 2017 Annual Luncheon, tentatively scheduled for September 2017.

Purchase tickets >>


Darren Walker, President, Ford Foundation
Julia Stasch, President, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

Champion Fighter Award Winner

King Harris, Chairman, Harris Holdings, Inc.

Presenting Sponsor

Media Sponsor


Media Partner


Host Committee

Melissa Bean, JPMorgan Chase & Co.
George W. Bilicic, Lazard 
John Buck, The John Buck Company
David Casper, BMO Harris Bank
Lester Crown, Henry Crown & Company
James Denny, JMD Investments
Amy C. Falls, The Rockefeller University
Mitchell Feiger, MB Financial, Inc.
Marshall Field V, The Field Corp.
John S. Gates, Jr., PortaeCo LLC
Jim Gordon, The Edgewater Funds
Alex Gourlay, Walgreens Boots Alliance
Michael L. Keiser, Bandon Dunes Golf Resort
Christie Kelly, Jones Lang LaSalle
Andrew J. McKenna, Schwarz Supply Source
Patrick G. Ryan, Ryan Specialty Group
Scott Swanson, PNC Bank Illinois
Frederick H. Waddell, Northern Trust
Miles D. White, Abbott

Lead Sponsors—$25,000

  • George and
    Laura Bilicic
  • John and
    Kathleen Buck
  • The Crown Family
  • Cate and Jim Denny
  • Amy Falls
    and Hartley Rogers
  • Harris Family Foundation
  • Pat and Shirley Ryan Family


    • Janet and Craig Duchossois
    • John S. Gates, Jr.
    • Jim Gordon,
      The Edgewater Funds
    • Andrew J. McKenna
  • Sam and
    Jessica Yagan


Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture
Ariel Investments
Baird & Warner
Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP
The Banc Funds Company, LLC
Carol Lavin Bernick Family Foundation
Booth Hansen
Brinshore Development
Bucksbaum Retail Properties, LLC
Carnahan-Daniels Foundation
The Chicago Community Trust
Christopher B. Burke Engineering, Ltd.
Chris and Cira Conley Family
Crescent Heights
Shawn M. Donnelley and Christopher M. Kelly
Draper and Kramer, Inc.
Drinker Biddle Reath, LLP
DSC Logistics, Inc.
Farr Associates Architecture and Urban Design
Jamee and Marshall Field
Fifth Third Bank
Franczek Radelet P.C.
Rodney and Keith Goldstein
Gould & Ratner LLP
The Habitat Company
John Jendras
Mr. and Mrs. John H. Krehbiel, Jr.
Loyola University Chicago
Machrie Enterprises LLC
Jim and Kitty Mann
National Parks Conservation Association
Northwestern Medicine
Peoples Gas
Pepper Construction Co.
Perkins & Will
The Pritzker Traubert Family Foundation
The PrivateBank
Robert R. McCormick Foundation
SunTrust Robinson Humphrey
United Center
University of Chicago, Office of Civic Engagement


Ancel Glink
Zandra Zuno Baermann, Golin
Peter B. Bensinger, Morneau Shepell
Patricia C. Bobb
Centrum Properties, Inc.
Alison Chung, TeamWerks
Enterprise Community Investment
Freedman Seating Company
Global Philanthropy Partnership
M. Hill Hammock, Chicago Deferred Exchange Company
Henkels & McCoy, Inc.
Hubbard Street Group, LLC
Illinois American Water
Irving Harris Foundation
Jasculca Terman Strategic Communications
Christopher J. King, Robinson Engineering Ltd.
Lloyd A. Fry Foundation
Lee M. Mitchell, Thoma Bravo, LLC
John McLinden
Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority
PJH & Associates, Inc.
James M. Ratcliffe
Resolute Consulting
Adele S. Simmons
James P. Stirling, UBS
Ambassador Louis and Marjorie Susman
Taiber, Kosmala & Associates, LLC
Union League Club of Chicago
Valerie S. Kretchmer Associates, Inc.
Mary White Vasys, Vasys Consulting Ltd.
Paula Wolff

This page can be found online at

Metropolitan Planning Council 140 S. Dearborn St.
Suite 1400
Chicago, Ill. 60603
312 922 5616

Sign up for newsletter and alerts »