Livable Communities Act <br> S 1619 and HR 4690: Federal framework to promote local competitiveness and sustainability - Metropolitan Planning Council

Skip to main content

Livable Communities Act
S 1619 and HR 4690: Federal framework to promote local competitiveness and sustainability

Download (729 KB)

The Livable Communities Act (S 1619 and HR 4690) would provide a multi-year authorization for federal sustainability initiatives. The bill authorizes $4 billion over four years for regional planning and challenge grants to make communities more livable, and eliminates federal barriers to sustainable development.

Proposed language supported by MPC and national partners would incorporate employer-assisted housing within this legislation.

  Engage employers in creating livable communities

Contact your legislator and urge support for the Livable Communities Act with incentives for employer-assisted housing.

The following legislators are co-sponsors of the legislation. Thank them for their leadership and encourage other legislators to support the bill.

S.1619 Livable Communities Act of 2009 
Senate Sponsor:  Sen. Christopher Dodd (D-Conn.)
Co-sponsors: Daniel Akaka (D-Hawaii), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Sherroed Brown (D-Ohio), Benjamin Cardin (D-Pa.), Sen. Robert Casey (D-Pa.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Sen. Kirsten Gillibran (D-N.Y)., Tom Harkin (D-Iowa), Mary Landrieu (D-La.), Frank Lautenberg (D-N.J.), Carl Levin (D-Mich.), Joseph Lieberman (I-Conn.), Robert Menendez (D-N.J.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Bernard Sanders (D-Vt.), Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.), Jeanne Shahean (D-N.H.), Arlen Specter (D-Pa.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.)

H.R.4690 Livable Communities Act of 2010 
House Sponsor: Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D-Colo.)
Co-sponsors: Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.), Lois Capps (D-Calif.), Russ Carnahan (D-Mo.), Andre Carson, (D-Ind.), Kathy Castor (D-Fla.), Donna Christensen (D-Va.), Emanuel Cleaver (D-Mo.), Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.), Gerald Connolly (D-Va.), Joe Courtney (D-Conn.), Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.), Keith Ellison (D-Minn.), Bob Filner (D-Calif.), Al Green (D-Texas), Deborah Halvorson (D-Ill.), James Himes (D-Conn.), Paul Hodes (D-N.H.), Rush Holt (D-N.J.), Michael Honda (D-Calif.), Henry Johnson (D-Ga.), Steve Kagen (D-Wisc.), Dale Kildee (D-Mich.), John Larson (D-Conn.), Barbara Lee (D-Calif.), Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.), Stephen Lynch (D-Mass.), Daniel Maffei (D-N.Y.), Betty McCollum (D-Minn.), Jim McDermott (D-Wash.), George Miller (D-Calif.), James Moran (D-Va.), Christopher Murphy (D-Conn.), Ed Pastor (D-Ariz.), Chellie Pingree (D-Maine), David Price (D-N.C.), Mike Quigley (D-Ill.), John Sarbanes (D-Md.), Janice Schakowsky (D-Ill.), Allyson Schwartz (D-Pa.), Carol Shea-Porter (D-N.H.), Albio Sires (D-N.J.), Paul Tonko (D-N.Y.), Maxine Waters (D-Calif.), Anthony Weiner (D-N.Y.)


This page can be found online at

Metropolitan Planning Council 140 S. Dearborn St.
Suite 1400
Chicago, Ill. 60603
312 922 5616

Sign up for newsletter and alerts »

Shaping a better, bolder, more equitable future for everyone

For more than 85 years, the Metropolitan Planning Council (MPC) has partnered with communities, businesses, and governments to unleash the greatness of the Chicago region. We believe that every neighborhood has promise, every community should be heard, and every person can thrive. To tackle the toughest urban planning and development challenges, we create collaborations that change perceptions, conversations—and the status quo. Read more about our work »

Donate »