Board of Governors - Metropolitan Planning Council

Skip to main content

Board of Governors

Executive Committee officers


Ellen Carnahan

Principal, Machrie Enterprises LLC

Vice Chair

Ann M. Drake

Chairman, DSC Logistics

Vice Chair, Development

James P. Stirling

Senior Advisor, UBS

Vice Chair, Development


Paul C. Carlisle

Executive Vice President, Wintrust Financial Corporation

Vice Chair, Government Relations

Robert V. Fitzsimmons, II

Managing Director and Principal, Next Generation Public Affairs, Inc.


Bruce W. Taylor

Vice ChairmanMB Financial Bank, N.A.

Immediate Past Chair

Todd C. Brown



MarySue Barrett

Metropolitan Planning Council

Board of Governors members

* denotes Executive Committee members

Ramiro J. Atristaín-Carrión

Managing Director, Atristain Financial Advisors, LLC

Kyle Barnett

Head, North American Physical Channels & U.S. Channels, BMO Financial Group

Carol Ross Barney

Founder & President, Ross Barney Architects, Inc.

*Matthew Brewer

PartnerBartlit Beck Herman Palenchar & Scott LLP 

Christopher B. Burke, Ph.D.

President, Christopher B. Burke Engineering, Ltd.

Jack Catlin

Partner, LCM Architects

Pedro J. Cevallos-Candau, Ph.D.

PresidentPececa, Ltd.

Chris Conley

Founder, Two Bit Ventures, LLC

Lester Crown

Chairman, Henry Crown & Company

Francesca DeBiase

Chief Supply Chain and Sustainability OfficerMcDonald's

*James C. Franczek, Jr.

President, Franczek Radelet P.C.

Linda Goodman

Principal, Goodman Williams Group

*Jacques N. Gordon

Global Investment StrategistLaSalle Investment Management

M. Hill Hammock

Chairman, Chicago Deferred Exchange Company

Andy Hesselbach

Vice President - Construction, Peoples Gas

Charles R. Kaiser

General Manager, Corporate Affairs, Edelman

Christopher J. King

President, Robinson Engineering Ltd.

Juan Carlos Linares

Executive Director, LUCHA

Laritza Lopez

Founder & CEOPurple Group

Bernard Loyd

President, Urban Juncture, Inc.

Mary K. Ludgin

Managing Director, Head of Global Research, Heitman LLC

Peter C. Malecek

Commercial Real Estate Regional Executive, Bank of America

James E. Mann


Lee M. Mitchell

Managing Partner, Thoma Bravo, Inc. 

Matthew Moog

CEO, PowerReviews

David Mook

Chief Private Banking Officer, U.S. Bank

*Juan G. Moreno

President, JGMA, Ltd.

Savi Pai

Executive Director, Private BankJPMorgan Chase

*J. Scot Pepper

Executive Vice President, Pepper Construction Company

Julian G. Posada

Chief Operating and Enterprise Officer, The Resurrection Project

George A. Ranney, Jr.

Former President & CEO, Metropolis Strategies

Matthew R. Reilein

Managing Director of Community Development, Cresset Partners

Robert Reiter

President, Chicago Federation of Labor

Shawn Riegsecker

Founder & CEO, Centro

Alana Ward Robinson

President & CEO, Robinson Group Consulting, Inc.

Smita Shah

President & CEO, SPAAN Tech, Inc.

Martin Stern

Senior Managing Director, CBRE, Inc.

Tyronne Stoudemire

Vice President, Global Diversity & InclusionHyatt Hotels Corporation

Michael A. Thomas

Vice President, Administration & Real Estate, The Allstate Corporation

Mary White Vasys

President, Vasys Consulting Ltd.

*Melissa Y. Washington

Vice President External & Large Customer SolutionsComEd

*Paula Wolff

Director, Illinois Justice Project

*Jessica Droste Yagan

CEO, Impact Engine

Honorary Board members

Edward K. Banker 
Senior Vice President (Retired), Harris Trust and Savings Bank

Laurence O. Booth 
Design Principal, Booth Hansen Associates

Joseph A. Gregoire
Senior Vice President, Wintrust Financial Corporation

Donald Haider 
Professor of Public Management, Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Management

John M. McDonough
Former Partner, Sidley Austin LLP

Daniel R. Toll 
Chairman (Retired), Corona Corporation

Priscilla A. (Pam) Walter
Of Counsel, Drinker Biddle & Reath, LLP

Board Members in the News

MPC's Board members have been making waves recently. Check out their most recent accomplishments and udpates.

MPC Board Co-Vice Chair of Development Jim Stirling (UBS) and MPC Board Chair Todd Brown enjoying the views during MPC's Chicago River Boat Tour in August 2017.

MPC Board member Bruce Taylor (MB Financial Bank, N.A.) at an MPC Urban Think & Drink in 2016.

MPC Board Member Pete Malecek (Bank of America) and MPC Vice President Marisa Novara enjoying the views along the Chicago River in August 2017.

MPC Board Member King Harris (Harris Holdings Inc.) accepting the Champion Fighter Award at MPC's 2016 Annual Luncheon.

MPC Immediate Past Board Chair Jacques N. Gordon (LaSalle Investment Management) looking out over the boat during MPC's 2017 Chicago River Boat Tour.

MPC Vice President Josh Ellis and MPC Board member Carol Ross Barney (Ross Barney Architects Inc.) at a special party in honor of Chicago River Edge Ideas Lab in September 2017.

This page can be found online at

Metropolitan Planning Council 140 S. Dearborn St.
Suite 1400
Chicago, Ill. 60603
312 922 5616

Sign up for newsletter and alerts »

Shaping a more equitable, sustainable and prosperous greater Chicago region

For more than 80 years, the Metropolitan Planning Council (MPC) has made the Chicago region a better place to live and work by partnering with businesses, communities and governments to address the area's toughest planning and development challenges. MPC works to solve today's urgent problems while consistently thinking ahead to prepare the region for the needs of tomorrow. Read more about our work »

Donate »